Answer in brief
CVE-2026-98962 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in btrfs: free iov when btrfs_uring_read_extent() fails. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps Linux/Linux (generic), Linux/Linux (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | >=34310c442e175f286b4c06ab5caa4e0b267ea31c <7a3addbdc5ad1fd80541a6a4ff4e06cd1331530a || >=34310c442e175f286b4c06ab5caa4e0b267ea31c <578ef517142420cf9d36b364ad4b3490b85469fb || >=34310c442e175f286b4c06ab5caa4e0b267ea31c <a8ea92830b3e0e163d4e829bdcb17ca83c0f951c | 7a3addbdc5ad1fd80541a6a4ff4e06cd1331530a, 578ef517142420cf9d36b364ad4b3490b85469fb, a8ea92830b3e0e163d4e829bdcb17ca83c0f951c |
| Linux/Linuxgeneric | 6.13 | Not reported |
Published upstream
Oct 23, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Oct 23, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Oct 23, 2026
In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: btrfs: free iov when btrfs_uring_read_extent() fails After btrfs_uring_read_extent(), the caller always jumped to out_acct. That skips kfree(data->iov), which is only correct for -EIOCBQUEUED where the deferred path owns the iov. On failure, fall through to out_free instead.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.