Answer in brief
CVE-2026-21715 records a Unknown severity vulnerability in CISA ADP Vulnrichment. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. The current feed maps nodejs/node (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
Analysis pending evidence review
HOL Guard separates source facts from reviewed analysis. See the methodology.
A CVSS score is not reported in the current record. The current sources do not mark it as known exploited. Treat this as a source-backed prioritization signal, not a statement about your environment.
Analysis status
Analysis pending evidence review
Factual feed record only; HOL analysis is not approved for indexing. Read the methodology.
The current feed maps nodejs/node (generic). Check affected ranges and fixed versions before updating.
| Product | Affected versions | Fixed versions |
|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:nodejs:node.js:*:*:*:*:-:*:*:* | Not reported | Not reported |
| Package | Affected range | Fixed version |
|---|---|---|
| nodejs/nodegeneric | 20.20.1 || 22.22.1 || 24.14.0 || 25.8.1 || >=4.0 <4.* || >=5.0 <5.* || >=6.0 <6.* || >=7.0 <7.* || >=8.0 <8.* || >=9.0 <9.* || >=10.0 <10.* || >=11.0 <11.* || >=12.0 <12.* || >=13.0 <13.* || >=14.0 <14.* || >=15.0 <15.* || >=16.0 <16.* || >=17.0 <17.* || >=18.0 <18.* || >=19.0 <19.* | 4.*, 5.*, 6.*, 7.*, 8.*, 9.*, 10.*, 11.*, 12.*, 13.*, 14.*, 15.*, 16.*, 17.*, 18.*, 19.* |
Published upstream
Mar 30, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordSource modified
Sep 17, 2026
Evidence: source:cvelist:source_dates:source-dates:recordFirst seen by HOL
Aug 20, 2026
A flaw in Node.js Permission Model filesystem enforcement leaves `fs.realpathSync.native()` without the required read permission checks, while all comparable filesystem functions correctly enforce them. As a result, code running under `--permission` with restricted `--allow-fs-read` can still use `fs.realpathSync.native()` to check file existence, resolve symlink targets, and enumerate filesystem paths outside of permitted directories. This vulnerability affects **20.x, 22.x, 24.x, and 25.x** processes using the Permission Model where `--allow-fs-read` is intentionally restricted.
Quoted source text, attributed separately from HOL analysis.